CentOS – how good is it?

The Community ENTerprise Operating System (CentOS) is an Enterprise-class Linux Distribution derived from sources freely provided to the public by a prominent North American Enterprise Linux vendor. CentOS conforms fully with the upstream vendors redistribution policy and aims to be 100% binary compatible. (CentOS mainly changes packages to remove upstream vendor branding and artwork.) The CentOS Project is the organization that builds CentOS

No prizes for guessing who this “prominent North American Enterprise Linux vendor” is :)

A (Red) Hat tip to Deepak for pointing me to this hilarious story from the CentOS website: why every city council needs at least one geek.

So is CentOS something worth relying on for running your beloved hardware? Hope we have an answer to that soon, we are experimenting on it at work and it seems to be holding up so far.

In the meantime, when I finally get the chance to dump Windows, I’ll choose Ubuntu. Or to affirm my Java faith should I go for Solaris?

But at least I have my Linux flavor of choice narrowed down to three.

3 Responses to CentOS – how good is it?

  1. Shridhar says:

    I have been evaluating CentOS for desktop as well as Server machines.
    I am satisfied with Server installation but not at all happy with desktop version. I have been struggling with installing optional packages, databases (which need compilation). Though CentOS comes from Red Hat stable version OS family I am not finding it stable.

  2. Peter Thomas says:

    Thanks for sharing your experience, I guess I would lean towards Ubuntu for the desktop then…

  3. timjowers says:

    I’ve found CentOS stable but the package installations are laborious. up2date is not very robust as it must be updated alot and even when it does an update it is still grabbin packages a full release behind the head for the chosen product.

Leave a Reply

