JTrac 2.0-EA1 released

JTrac is an open source issue tracker based on Spring, Spring WebFlow, Acegi and Hibernate. It has been designed to be easy to evaluate: just drop the WAR file into your servlet-engine and it will start an embedded HSQLDB database.

Have a look at the features here. You can download JTrac here.

After a few months of converting the old code to Spring WebFlow (btw the 1.0-RC1 released last week), Acegi and Hibernate – along with the extensive design changes, the move to JDK 5.0 and JSP 2.0 – I finally got to a point where it could be released for getting early feedback.

Looking forward to getting your feedback and comments…

Update: oops… I forgot to include in the zipped documentation that the initial login defaults to admin / admin
This has been fixed on the website.

8 Responses to JTrac 2.0-EA1 released

  1. madhugr says:

    Great show Peter…I am one of the users of your previous version of jtrac…looking forward to the new version and the new features that you have introduced.

  2. willfarnaby says:

    Nice work.

    How about hierarchical projects (like TrackStudio)?

    Are you going to use Spring – Quartz for periodic processing?

    Requirements Analysis: see http://www.volere.co.uk/

  3. willfarnaby says:

    My Observations after Quick Install:
    ==========================

    Make it easier for the user to specify jtrac.home. Why should the user have to consider how to go about setting a particular property value for a particular app server (note that some app servers also have various kinds of “properties”, further compounding the problem).

    Should have more predefined fields (whose attributes can of course be edited), like “Logged By”, “Assigned To”, “Module”, etc.

    Should be able choose a well-known collection, such as the set of users defined, to auto-populate a custom field like “Logged By”.

    I hate the naming constraint for “Spaces” – all upper case and only letters and numbers. That punches my conceptual model, every time I use the product. Yech.

    And Then…
    ===========

    I got the following error after I added the “Module” free text field and then tried to edit its attributes after creation. This apparently blew away the new Space I was creating. I and will check back in a while to see how JTrac is progressing.

    JTrac Internal error

    org.springframework.webflow.ActionExecutionException: Exception thrown executing [AnnotatedAction@197c100 targetAction = info.jtrac.webflow.SpaceFormAction@b66999, attributes = map[‘method’ -> ‘fieldEditHandler’]] in state ‘spaceFieldsView’ of flow ‘space’; nested exception is java.lang.RuntimeException: Bad name CUS_STR_01 Caused by: java.lang.RuntimeException: Bad name CUS_STR_01 at info.jtrac.domain.Field.convertToName(Unknown Source) at info.jtrac.domain.Metadata.getField(Unknown Source) at info.jtrac.webflow.SpaceFormAction.fieldEditHandler(Unknown Source) at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method) at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:39) at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:25) at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:585) at …

    [edited out for brevity – Peter]

  4. willfarnaby says:

    BTW, how does JTrac (or how will it at it’s summer release) compare with Scarab, from tigris?

    I’ve never yet installed Scarab – it’s development seems to move at the pace glaciers used to move.

  5. Peter Thomas says:

    Thanks Will,

    Appreciate your feedback. You can subscribe to the project news feeds at SF.net so that you can be notified on new releases.

    Also, it would be great if you can add your comments to the forums or tracker at the JTrac SourceForge area – so that they don’t get missed.

    1) Hierarchial projects are planned, see the roadmap.

    2) There will be a scheduler, I will try to use the JDK Timer as far as possible or otherwise yes, Quartz with Spring support.

    3) jtrac.home : yes, this will be improved – and the best way would be to edit a properties file in an exploded war file. As of now, I was aiming for making evaluation as easy as possible. Looks like you got it working on Glassfish? Do let me know, I can mention it on the site.

    4) Logged By and Assigned To are core fields – I can indeed look at making this obvious on the Space edit screens. Yes, being able to add a custom “User Selector” is a good idea, and will be looked at.

    5) You haven’t seen the naming constraints for workflow states and roles yet :) But seriously, will relax those. However I don’t think I will relax the rules for the Space name. That is used for example to prefix the reference ids for items. Note that the user is allowed to describe the Space, will it be better if I make this more visible?

    6) The “Bad name CUS_STR_01” error sounds like strange “Enum” behaviour. Are you using a mustang build or something? Let me know your environment!

    7) I have not evaluated Scarab so cannot comment. I am sure that going forward, people would post their experiences to the JTrac forums.

  6. willfarnaby says:

    Peter:

    Yes, I’ll add comments to either forums or tracker sometime during the next week.

    Yes, just did a simple deployment of war file to Glassfish.

    Regarding Space name: how about just allowing mixed case but no white space? Mixed case would work for me.

    I’m just using:

    java version “1.5.0_06”
    Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build 1.5.0_06-b05)
    Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 1.5.0_06-b05, mixed mode)

    Thanks,
    WF

  7. Ajit says:

    I installed latest JTrac and facing some issues. All the users I create get admin privileges even if I mark them as Developers. Could you please let me know what could be the issue. I tried to redeploy but doesn’t work. Can you please let me know procedure to reinstall JTrac? Thanks

  8. Peter Thomas says:

    Ajit – this is indeed a problem with EA-1 and will be resolved in the final version due end of this month. It would be great if you visit the JTrac home page and use the forums there or the tracker to log problems, so that they can be tracked. See comment #5

    I have now disabled comments for this blog entry.

