Eclipse porting bug open since 2004

I just chanced upon this blog entry by Rob Williams:

Simple, stupid, basic functionality left to rot on one of their supported platforms

That’s right, an Eclipse bug on Mac OS X “Data Collection Engine for Mac OS X” open since 2004 – and with no sign of anything moving soon.

Couldn’t resist posting this nugget having posted earlier (after donning flame-retardant suit) on reasons why I switched to NetBeans.

About Peter Thomas
https://twitter.com/ptrthomas

2 Responses to Eclipse porting bug open since 2004

  1. That’s not the only one, and yes, Eclipse is a pain on MacOS X. That’s the reason I use IDEA in customer projects if possible (though most customers require Eclipse as a plattform). I still hope Eclipse would drop the “cross plattform” and switch to “The Windows IDE”.

  2. I’m using Eclipse of Linux (Ubuntu Dapper Drake) and I can’t complain about it. Actually I’m quite satisifed of my IDE It helps me write poems^Wcode _fast_ ;-)

    Cheers,
    a.

Leave a comment