GWT now 100% open source, yet another framework to consider

Maybe it was their plan all along, condescendingly declare it open source as if doing a favor to developers. Well I wish they hadn’t.

I had raved about GWT earlier but then quickly realized that one of the core components (the java to javascript compiler thingy) was not open source. Whoa. Not open source? No good. So I was looking at other options.

And in my last post I was leaning towards Wicket. Now these Google guys have to go do this and increase my work. Why do we need another framework? Sun wants us to use JSF right? Is there something so seriously wrong with JSF so that we have all these other gazillion frameworks? What is going on? I hate MVC frameworks. Gaah.

So I think I’m going to stick to plain JSP / JSTL at the moment until things become more clearer. And for those who want to know, I’m having no trouble at all building a UI over Spring MVC and WebFlow. I identified the need for a couple of re-usable UI fragments and what did I do? I wrote a JSP custom tag. Easy. Nothing to it. It works. I don’t need no frigging IDE drag and drop from a palette.

What about AJAX? No problem. I directly use Prototype. 5-6 lines of javascript code to call a server page and update a div within the JSP. Done. Works. I don’t need any more abstraction-over-abstraction unproven stateful component-based blah to help me create a “rich” UI. No thanks.

5 Responses to GWT now 1005 open source, yet another framework to consider

  1. Java still isn’t open source, but you’re using it, right?

    You should try to use the right tool for the job – the source licence doesn’t usually affect a tool’s utility.

  2. Peter Thomas says:

    Correction. Java isn’t open source *yet*.

    Okay. I use Windows too. It was a good excuse (while it lasted) to drop GWT from the list of UI frameworks that I planned on evaluating.

    As I was ranting, my point is there are way too many web-UI frameworks. Which should I choose?

  3. Eelco Hillenius says:

    If you think JSPs and prototype are going to cut if for you, I’d go with that. Pick the simplest thing possible. But if indeed maintainability, reusability etc are factors getting out of hand (and I’ve been there) a framework like Wicket is there too help. You just have to decide whether the extra abstractions will help you out rather then being in your way. The general, the more complex/ large a project gets, the more likely you’ll benefit from a decent framework.

  4. Peter Thomas says:

    I’m really keen on Wicket as I mentioned in my previous post. And as I think about it more, I personally prefer to have control over the HTML / Javascript generated, and I think Wicket gives you that.

    I will contact you by e-mail as I have some questions on how to mix Wicket and SWF, maybe we can take this up on the Wicket forums.

  5. Pingback: Wicket Impressions, moving from Spring MVC / WebFlow « Incremental Operations

Leave a Reply

